Connect with us

Local News

Six students and three staff members from Coral Springs and Parkland schools recognized for their character



Coral Springs, Florida – The Broward County Schools District is going to recognize six kids and three staff members from schools in Coral Springs and Parkland for their outstanding character.

50 kids and 20 BCPS employees will be recognized at the 24th annual Kids and Staff Characters Awards on May 15 for being exceptional models of the district’s adopted core character traits, which include cooperation, responsibility, citizenship, kindness, respect, honesty, self-control, and tolerance.

The district sent a press statement stating that the curriculum and school-related activities are how the eight attributes are incorporated into the school environment.

Students and employees who best exhibit the fundamental values all year long are nominated by schools around the district.

The press release lists the following faculty and staff people as the recipients of the honor:


Country Hills Elementary School: Leonel Vega
James S. Hunt Elementary School: Derilin Fuller
Sawgrass Springs Middle School: Fayola Jean Francois
Park Springs Elementary School: Haley Goldie
Parkside Elementary School: Brooklyn DeFroscia
Somerset Riverside Academy: Nylah Warren


City of Coral Springs Charter: Ryan Pinney
James S. Hunt Elementary School: Margarita Guzman
Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School: Yosleny Valera
The annual event, which is organized by the BCPS Mental Health Services Department, takes place at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts, Amaturo Theater, in Fort Lauderdale. The ceremony begins at 7 p.m.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *