Connect with us

Local News

Dan Bruck, the owner of Kilwins Coral Springs, received the MLK Monument Award



Coral Springs, Florida – Dan Bruck, the owner of Kilwins Coral Springs, was given the 2024 MLK Monument Award by the Coral Springs Martin Luther King, Jr. Committee on Wednesday in recognition of his community commitment and efforts.

According to the city, Bruck has been the owner of the neighborhood Kilwins for 22 years. In addition to serving original recipe ice cream, luscious fudge, and hand-crafted chocolates at his store at 2758 N. University Dr., he also gives back to the community by supporting employees, organizing fundraisers, and making donations.

The Coral Springs MLK Committee awarded Bruck with his award at a ceremony held ahead of Wednesday’s meeting of the Coral Springs City Commission.

“All I can say is, I enjoy diversity, I really do,” said Bruck. “I can’t imagine a world where we’re all the same.”

A 22-pound chocolate rabbit that Bruck gave to the Kids of Love Foundation, a charity that aids kids with cancer and other life-threatening illnesses, was one of his most recent donations. The rabbit was raffled off to generate money for underprivileged kids. Additionally, he has contributed raffle baskets to the Coral Springs Annual MLK Golf Tournament, which has helped earn significant money for the MLK Scholarship Fund.

Bruck has also volunteered at the Faith Center Church, sponsored the Daughters of Zion/Women of Destiny, assisted in feeding over 400 families weekly via the Dare to Care program, and planned an ice cream gathering for the elderly, according to the city.

The MLK Monument Award recognizes local people or groups that uphold Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s principles.

“From setting up ice cream socials to volunteering his time at various organizations, Dan demonstrates the best qualities of a true community leader and exudes the same selfless spirit as Martin Luther King, Jr.,” said Coral Springs Commissioner Joshua Simmons, the MLK Committee Liaison. “It’s an absolute honor to select Dan as this year’s MLK Monument Award winner.”

Bruck was chosen from a group of four contenders. The city stated that Dr. Mark Gendal, Karla Garcia, and Marcus Duncanson were among the other nominees.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *